USF Announces Home and Home Series with Kent State

August 19, 2009
J. Meric

TAMPA - University of South Florida men's basketball coach Stan Heath has announced a home and home series between the Bulls and Kent State University for the 2009-10 and 2010-11 seasons.

Heath, who coached Kent State to the 2002 NCAA Elite Eight, will host the Golden Flashes at the Sun Dome on Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2009, then will travel to Kent, Ohio, in 2010.

"We're scheduling a very good team, and a very good program over the last 10 years that, based just on record, would rank extremely high in college basketball, " said Heath. "It's sentimental to me. It was my first head coaching experience. Kent State and Laing Kennedy gave me a great opportunity. That year we had was special, and a special year for me personally."

This will be the first meeting between the Bulls and Golden Flashes, and USF's trip to Ohio will be the first time a BIG EAST team has played in the M.A.C. Center since KSU hosted West Virginia in the first round of the 2004 NIT.

The addition of the KSU game completes USF's non-conference schedule for the 2009-10 season. The Bulls open on Nov. 13 with Southern Methodist in Texas, then return to Tampa for a matchup with Virginia on Nov. 16 before playing three games in the Charleston Classic Nov. 19-22, starting with Davidson in the first round.

The game with Kent State on Nov. 25 starts a five-game homestand as USF follows the Golden Flashes with FAU (Nov. 27), Hampton (Dec. 2), Central Michigan (Dec. 13) and UCF (Dec. 16).

The Bulls wrap up the non-conference portion of the winter at the Las Vegas Holiday Hoops Classic, playing San Francisco Dec. 19 and San Diego Dec. 20.

"We have a schedule that is very strong and will prepare us very well for our conference," added Heath.

Check out the complete non-conference schedule here

Although the Bulls do know their league opponents, the BIG EAST Conference schedule has not been released and likely won't come out until early September.  USF will host Cincinnati, Connecticut, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, Providence, Rutgers, St. John's, Seton Hall and West Virginia and will travel to Cincinnati, DePaul, Georgetown, Louisville, Marquette, Notre Dame, Providence, Syracuse and Villanova.


MORE FROM Men's Basketball