Ben Solomon

Trio of Bulls Named to All-Conference Team

May 01, 2014

TAMPA (May 1, 2014) – Three USF women’s tennis players were named to the All-American Athletic Conference team it was announced by the league Thursday afternoon.  Loreto Alonso-Martinez, Kayla Rizzolo and Olaya Garrido-Rivas were all recognized by The American.

Alonso-Martinez highlights the trio as she was also voted the Conference Player of the Year.  Currently on a 15 match winning streak, the senior has played 14 of those matches at the No. 1 singles position while playing her first eight matches of the season at the number two spot.  She currently boasts an 18-5 mark this spring while going 18-2 in dual matches.  Alonso-Martinez was also named the Most Outstanding Player of the American Athletic Conference Championships after winning all three of her singles matches and also picking up a win in doubles action. 

Rizzolo has put together a fine senior season as well sporting a 14-6 record this spring including riding an 11 match winning streak.  Of her 14 victories, she has won nine of them in straight sets including one over a ranked foe.  Rizzolo also teamed up with Alonso-Martinez in doubles to post a 9-10 mark.  One of those wins came against Caroline Rohde-Moe and Marija Milutinovic of Mississippi who were ranked 19th at the time.    

Garrido-Rivas has made an immediate impact on the USF lineup during her freshman campaign playing the entire season at the number three position.  She currently has a 17-6 record on the year in singles while tallying a 13-8 mark in doubles play.  The Spain native has won nine straight matches for USF, all of which were in straight sets.  Garrido-Rivas was one of four Bulls’ players to claim a singles point versus Houston in the conference championship match after the team fell behind 1-0 after doubles.

In all, The American named 12 individuals to the All- Conference Team.  USF, along with Houston, led the conference with three selections.  Despoina Vogasari of Houston was named the Freshman of the Year while Houston head coach Patrick Sullivan was named the Coach of the Year.

American Athletic Conference Player of the Year
Loreto Alonso-Martinez, Sr., USF

American Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year
Despoina Vogasari, Houston

American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year
Patrick Sullivan, Houston

All-Conference Team
Elena Kordolaimi, Jr., Houston*
Tina Rupert, Fr., Houston
Despoina Vogasari, Fr., Houston*
Julia Fellerhoff, Sr., Louisville
Rebecca Shine, Sr., Louisville
Marta Morgan, Fr., Memphis
Anki Wind, Fr., Memphis
Vanessa Petrini, Sr., Rutgers
Loreto Alonso-Martinez, Sr., USF *
Olaya Garrido-Rivas, Fr., USF*
Kayla Rizzolo, Sr., USF
Dasha Sharapova, Fr., SMU

*unanimous selection

MORE FROM Women's Tennis