Timothy D. Sofranko

Rudd Named USBWA National Player of the Week

December 26, 2012

TAMPA – The national recognition keeps coming for University of South Florida junior Victor Rudd as he was selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) as the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 23. It is the first time in the four years that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week that USF has had a player chosen.

The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 19 this season. Rudd is the third selection this year, joining Illinois’ Brandon Paul (Dec. 9) and Creighton’s Doug McDermott (Dec. 16). The weekly Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week will be considered for the Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list, which will be released at mid-season.

Rudd averaged 22.5 points and 11.5 rebounds in two USF wins last week and was also honored as the BIG EAST Player of the Week, USF’s first selection since the 2009-10 season. He opened the week with career-high 16 rebounds and 16 points for his second double-double of the season in a 72-54 win over Youngstown State.

In the Bulls’ triple overtime win over Bowling Green, Rudd scored a season-high 29 points while hitting the game-tying 3-pointer with four seconds left in regulation, the game tying 3-pointer with 28 seconds left in the second OT and the go-ahead basket with 13 seconds left in the third OT.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership. The winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy presented by Aflac will be presented by its namesake, Oscar Robertson, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15, 2013, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

MORE FROM Men's Basketball